A Valentine Lark

[ Fugacious Reader: took me a while to blog-post my Valentine’s Day gift to Larkin, but here it is now: ]

Above is the package ensemble, which I planned to present to Larkin in person, at Twin Peaks Tavern. Enclosed in the box is a pair of Valentine’s Day boxer shorts to which I taped individually wrapped caramel candies: 6 on the front and 5 on the back. The box itself was purchased at a USPS depot, intended as a DVD mailer. So he’s gonna think one or two DVDs are enclosed, until he opens it. Also stashed with the shorts were two legal size envelopes, each containing a printout of my two most recent tales: “Standing My Ground” and “Ray Revisited.”

In one of the envelopes (I forget which), I included 12 different Valentine themed Scooby-Doo images. Though I printed out all images on one sheet of paper, I cut out each pic, like individual sticky notes, and stuffed them all into a folded letter before sealing the envelope. So that (I hope), they’d spill out onto his lap.

Now, this pic below shows the other side of the gift bag, and the front of the DVD box which I wrapped in three layers of blue tissue paper, then bound in a pink shoelace. You can see Scooby-Doo clenching a Valentine card between his teeth, with caption above that declares: “Be mine.” Partially covered by the bow, are these words that I printed out and Scotch-taped onto the front:

“I wouldn’t know what heaven is like, if we didn’t meet.”

The ladybug 3-D sticker was an impulse purchase that I glued to the gift bag at the last moment.

And here’s the back of the box, showing another Scooby-Doo Valentine image, and a tiny box of candy in the shape of a heart. I chose the dragon motif, of course, since the dragon is a major theme of my “Larkin Tales.”

As it turned out, I decided to snail-mail him this latest gift…but the box of candy did not fit very well in the 10-1/2 by 13 inch bubble envelope. So I ate the contents myself: the three Russel Stover treats were quite tasty! In addition, I inserted the bag and box seperately, that the bag may lie flat within the shared mailer. There was also a Valentine’s Day card plunked into this bag, in which I wrote:

“I’m nuts about you, Larkin! Please stop being a prick.”

I’m sure that Larkin–upon extracting these three items–reconstituted my original plan to contain the box and card within this bag, that he may enjoy my intended presentation.

Leave a Reply

