Pillow Gossip

Subject: Hilarious Discovery
Date: Mon, Mar 23, 2015 at 3:40 PM
From: Zeke Krahlin
To: Sally (publishing consultant, Twosome Press)

Sal, I was shopping for another Scooby-Doo gift for Larkin (this
time for Easter), and I stumbled upon this particular pillowcase. Once
you see the design, you’ll appreciate the amazing coincidence!

Of course I had to purchase it!

– Zeke


[ Zinjanthropus Reader: if you have not been a dedicated fan of my tales for two or more years, you are most likely confused at this point. The image above is a reference to the first illustration in my book, “Free Me From This Bond,” which came out in December of 2012. (For whatever reason, Larkin is nuts about Scooby-Doo, well beyond his formative years; in fact he is now 52! So I seek out some kind of Scooby-Doo gift for him on a regular basis.) The uncanny similarity of the picture above–yet with a most humorous twist and implication to my own illustration–is most remarkable. Here it is: ]


Subject: Re: Hilarious Discovery
Date: Tue, Mar 24, 2015 at 11:24 AM
From: Zeke Krahlin
To: Sally (publishing consultant, Twosome Press)

Sally wrote:

{{ Zeke that is just brilliant! Did you buy it?

Best regards,

Sally
Publishing Consultant }}

Of course! Do I dare defy Destiny? (My disability budget’s shot for
the rest of March as a result, but I have grown quite accustomed over
the years to the myriad sacrifices put upon This Paltry Soul for My
Wyvern’s sake.) Larkin’s gonna go nuts over it. Every night he’ll lay
his head on This Prophetic Pillow Case and sail off into Scooby-Doo
Dreamland with yours truly at the helm!

Unfortunately (I guess), the delivery of this item won’t be any sooner
than April 16th…well after Easter has come and gone. Yet I trust the
timing of whatever Fate has in store for me. The sporadic conjunction
of my star with Larkin often contains a twist in the plot.

– Zeke

PS: Meanwhile, I decided to wear the following statement Sharpied onto
a square of cardboard and dangling from my neck by a shoelace…whenever I find Larkin seated at Twin Peaks Tavern (his frequent nighttime hangout down the block and across the street from my own residence).

I will stand outside where he can’t miss me, thanks to the plate glass windows looking out upon Castro & Market. So now–whenever he points me out to another patron and declares “that’s my stalker”–I’ll be able to counter that false accusation w/o speaking a word. And if he and a patron are standing outside at that moment, I’ll hand his companion my business card with a link to “Free Me From This Bond,” as well as a printout of his signed permission to use his real name in my tales. For it has finally dawned on me at this point, that Luciferian Larkin has set me up to promote my book by garnering the curiosity of said patrons. Maybe I’ll even strut throughout the neighborhood with This Albatross about my neck at all times of day and night, just to stir up controversy!

How much of a fool does he want me to be, for his love? I have recently acquired a new friend who is most handsome and kind…and could (frankly speaking) make me forget Larkin. Though I could never bear to allow that to happen. His name is Jerry, and he held me up when I stumbled.


[ So here we go, Fractalkine Reader! As I stand about Twin Peaks Tavern (and perhaps other spots in The Castro) while wearing this sign, I will hand out the following half-page document as a promotional stunt for My Astounding Novel: ]


Larkin’s sweet friendship has inspired me to self-publish a book about our adventures together, called “Free Me From This Bond”. Which novel is always free to read online, at:

http://www.gay-bible.org/free

Consider this my thank-you gift for Larkin’s incredible camaraderie, but also to the SF LGBT Community, and San Francisco in general. I was shocked when he started calling me his stalker starting in January 2013, for he always welcomed me to whatever bar he visited here in The Castro. Took me a while to figure out his intention, which began immediately after the last step in the publishing process. After almost a year of grief, I realized he was creating controversy around us, that bar patrons would become curious enough to read my book and spread the word. Free Me From This Bond is based on true adventures South of Market and here in The Castro. Most of the tales involve my adventures with Larkin; thus I give him credit for being the true author (and I, merely his recording secretary). Though he has humiliated and vilified me in public many times over, now and then he has performed most gracious deeds and declarations, as if to say: “Not is all as it seems. Hang in there, for I love you very much and I trust you to figure it all out in the long run.” He is a brilliant man, and loves to play The Game Of Life in most extraordinary ways. Below is a copy of his permission to use his real name, starting with Book 2 of what is turning out to be a trilogy. Before you pass judgment against me (or him), I beg you to read the book.

Leave a Reply

