Flower Child

Date: Sat, 16 Jul 2016 20:47:07
Subject:
Flower Child
From: Zeke Krahlin
To: My E-frenz

A brief conversation from the Nextdoor online forum, for residents of San Francisco, and which I recently joined. Names have been changed to protect the wonderful:

====

Random Act of Kindness [ 23h ago ]
Beverly Carver from Church and Market

Thank you to the sweet girl walking down Landers St who stopped me and my friends to hand us each a lovely flower. She said, “I want nothing in return, I’d just like to give you each a flower.” Now that’s San Francisco!

Zeke Krahlin from Duboce Triangle [ 3h ago ]

Meanwhile, the low income, the poor and people of color have been driven out in droves, and the homeless population surges. No flower for them! Yes, here comes another summer of love…go to the boutique on Haight Street and get your flower child costume before they run out!

Winnie Wentworth from Church and Market [ 2h ago ]

Zeke, somebody did something nice, and it was appreciated. Why do you have to be so snarky about it?

Beverly Carver from Church and Market [ 1h ago ]

Hi Winnie- hey the post made it for nearly 24 hours before the bitterness bubbled up. That has to be a record for NextDoor. BTW Winnie, your street garden on 15th always makes me smile.

Marlina Ravinsky from Church and Market [ 1h ago ]

Sorry Zeke. Hope you find something to make you smile.

Zeke Krahlin from Duboce Triangle [ 11m ago ]

Winnie: I saw the best minds of my generation destroyed by madness, starving hysterical naked, dragging themselves through the negro streets at dawn looking for an angry fix, angelheaded hipsters burning for the ancient heavenly connection to the starry dynamo in the machinery of night…and then came the yuppies, the dot-com boom, and the IT zombies.

Beverly: I know, right?

Marlina: Didn’t say I wasn’t happy. IOW, this is /my/ San Francisco perceived with honest eyes. Random acts of kindness happen everywhere, it is not what makes this city unique. But I see I stumbled into a women’s support group, so I’ll hightail it outta here. Buy union.

=====

– Zeke


Date: Sat, 16 Jul 2016 23:02:17
Subject:
Re: Flower Child
From: Zeke Krahlin
To: Eleanor Cooney

On Sat, Jul 16, 2016 at 10:56 PM, Eleanor Cooney wrote:

{{ Ooh! You snake at the garden party, you!!! Hilarious. Nicely done. }}

San Francisco is my bitch.


Date: Sat, 16 Jul 2016 20:56:27
Subject:
Oops! (Flower Child followup)
From: Zeke Krahlin
To: My E-frenz

Winnie Wentworth from Church and Market [ 5m ago ]

…and we’re done. I’ll delete the post.

Zeke Krahlin from Duboce Triangle [ 1m ago ]

I’ve never been an old curmudgeon before, so I thought I’d try something new.


Date: Sat, 16 Jul 2016 21:08:46
Subject:
Oops! (Flower Child followup addendum)
From: Zeke Krahlin
To: My E-frenz

Winnie Wentworth from Church and Market [ 9m ago ]

It’s ok. I didn’t want this post to start controversy. Really, I was hoping that the girl who was handing out the flowers was a member of next door and would see that what she did was appreciated. But I totally understand your frustration with the evolution of the population in the city. There are so many reasons to be pissed off at the way things are in SF. NextDoor is a good place to vent the frustration. I’ve done it too and will continue to. No hard feelings.

Zeke Krahlin from Duboce Park [ 2m ago ]

Wow, what an amazing reply! You just made my day, Winnie. My comments were my own SF eccentric brand of humor. Even in my frustrations and despair, I always put a wry spin to it. Thanks for the explanation, anything for a little girl. I gladly sacrifice my outstanding wit and stellar charm for such a good cause. Delete this message too, if appropriate. And always buy union.


Date: Sat, 16 Jul 2016 23:06:56
Subject:
Re: Oops! (Flower Child followup addendum)
From: Zeke Krahlin
To: Eleanor Cooney

On Sat, Jul 16, 2016 at 10:59 PM, Eleanor Cooney wrote:

{{ “Buy union.” By gum, I will! }}

“I used to buy gum, but it kept sticking to my ribs.” – Gay Zombie Jesus


Date: Sat, 16 Jul 2016 23:58:04
Subject:
Re: Oops! (Flower Child followup addendum)
From: Zeke Krahlin
To: Eleanor Cooney

On Sat, Jul 16, 2016 at 11:50 PM, Eleanor Cooney wrote:

{{ “Just so it doesn’t stick to your shoe.” –Buddha Pest }}

“Then what’s shoeing gum for?” – Gepetto

Leave a Reply

