Larkin’s Cubes

Date: Sat, 15 Jul 2017 16:30:10
Subject:
Those Scooby-Doo Cubes Arrived Yesterday!
From: Zeke Krahlin
To: Eleanor Cooney

So I put together my gift package for Larkin, see attachment 1. The
story cubes packet has been wrapped up in a man’s tie, and a very attractive tie it is. If you recall, I like to wrap my extra-special
offerings to Larkin, in a tie. He commented on that three years ago, said:

“Those are very nice ties you give me!”

There’s the card: a Peanuts theme starring Woodstock, standing in his nest on a blustery day, and chirping exclamation points.

Reminiscent of the illustration for chapter 1 of my novel, “Free Me From This Bond.” Remember that remarkable pillowcase I discovered while perusing Amazon for some relevant Scooby-Doo gift, back in March of 2015? I had no idea such a design existed, I was simply searching for “scooby-doo bedroom” stuff, on a whim. Here’s the image, to refresh your memory:

Of course, what makes it so remarkable is its uncanny resemblance to
the illustration in chapter 1: Scooby-Doo instead of Snoopy, crashing
at his doghouse. In that image (so lovingly drawn by S. Rohan),
appears Woodstock, apparently flustered over Snoopy’s unexpected
replacement. Again, to refresh your memory:

Open the card to see a blank space awaiting my pen, and I wrote: “THAR SHE BLOWS” in fat, outlined uppercase letters. That is one of Larkin’s trademark expressions, along with “Aargh!” The lovely, dark blue gift bag rests just beneath that card. I also inserted a folded printout of my email to Twin Peaks Tavern, seeing as I have yet to actually hand it to him… though I’ve tried, carrying it about in my pocket as I stroll the ‘hood. It will, of course, happen, but in such a way as to underline Larkin’s flair for the theatrical.

In addition, I printed out my recent tale, “Rays of Emerald,” and placed it in a legal sized envelope that I inserted into the gift bag. Attached are two more images: one, showing the Scooby-Doo story cubes wrapped up; the other, how the completed gift will appear in Larkin’s hands.

My final embellishment was to tape some small Scooby-Doo images to
both envelopes…pics which I copied offa Google Images and printed
out.

I will soon post a blog entry about this latest present to My Avuncular Ankylosaurus, showing more detail of each component. Now all I need do is walk around with this colorful token of love until our paths cross once more. I feel like a bower bird, decorating the entrance to his little nest with pretty geegaws, to attract a mate. Larkin’s such a sucker for thoughtful, diminutive gifts, especially when it includes a Scooby-Doo treat!

Leave a Reply

